I found my True Match…and it is luminous!

Hey There!

I started exploring the world of foundation only quite recently.  Thankfully I don’t have too many issues with my skin…at the max an occasional pimple or redness so I was able to get by with no foundation for a really long time. Another reason I rarely used foundation was the fact I was living in Singapore till recently and the humidity there can pretty much melt things off your face!

Now that I live in a fairly less humid part of the world I decided to get foundation into my routine more often.  I have pretty dry skin and while looking around for a good drug store foundation I saw this guy to be quite highly recommended for those of us with dry skin.

Now the good stuff…

  • I find that with the huge range of shades offered (atleast from a drugstore perspective) you have a better chance at finding your shade. I am an NC30 in MAC and I found the shade W4 works for me.

IMG_0589

  • I found this foundation quite easy to apply. It spreads easily and doesn’t dry too fast thereby giving you enough time to work with it. I also like the finish I got by stippling the product with an ELF powder blush.
  • I like the fact it comes with a pump making the whole process of getting the product out really easy and hygienic as well.
  • Of course the most important thing to look at is the final finish on the skin! And yup I love the glowy dewy look this foundation gave to my skin :)! You can see it in the picture with the foundation blended!

IMG_0591IMG_0595

The not so good stuff…

  • As far as the staying power goes..they claim the product will last upto 8 hours but I did notice myself getting slightly oily after around 5 hours maybe. But it could be because..gulp..I rarely set my foundation with powder  :P..So maybe if I were following ‘the rules’ it might stay longer .
  • This foundation provides light to medium coverage so if you have dry skin and only have minimal skin issues this might work wonderfully! Oily skin girls…I guess you might have to sit this one out..
  • It is slightly pricey for a drugstore product but I am quite happy with the results and wouldn’t  mind repurchasing once I am done with this bottle.

The Claims..do they work?

These are the claims I found for the product at the Loreal website :

‘ Finally, makeup that creates skin so healthy – it’s luminous! True Match™ Lumi Healthy Luminous Makeup combines 3 powerful ingredients that work to improve your complexion the more you wear them. 40% pure water for all-day hydration. Antioxidants and Vitamins C and E for improved clarity and skin tone. And Liquid Light Technology for an instant, luminous glow. Isn’t it time you met your match?

See the Results:
Instantly: skins illuminated.
In 1 Month: skin is clearer, healthier, more luminous

Finish: Luminous
SPF: 20
Coverage: Lightweight, buildable coverage that lasts up to 8 hours
Skin Type: For all skin types. Safe for sensitive skin.’

Now lets take a look at these claims one at a time..

  • They claim that the 40% water present in the product  will  provide all day hydration.Ok I have to say that this is not entirely true…if you take a look at the ingredients you will see that it’s a combination of several components that gives some level of hydration to the skin. As I am trying to figure out the best way to explain this I am tempted to write a full fledged post talking about what exactly happens when you apply a moisturizer to your skin and what affects skin hydration (The geek within is so happy at the thought of writing all about the chemisty of skin :D). I will tackle that post within the next couple of days and put a link to it in this review I promise. For now, all I will say is that the claim of hydration is fulfilled by the team work between the water, glycerin, ethylhexyl hydroxystearate and the various silicon polymers present in this formulation. But hey…doesn’t saying pure water is responsible for hydrating your skin much more wholesome and fresh sounding :)!
  • The antioxidants in this formulation are Vitamin C and E listed in the label as ascorbyl palmitate and tocopherol respectively. Vitamin C is usually present in cosmetics as synthetic  derivatives of ascorbic acid, primarily because it is highly unstable in its raw form. There has been research showing that  ascorbyl palmitate and tocopherol  prevents peroxidative damage to cells  however they do emphasize that its activity is highly dependent on its concentration. Out of the 2 antioxidants it was also shown that Vitamin E is far superior to ascorbyl palmitate (Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology B: Biology).Now about the claim of them improving clarity and skin tone..I didn’t really see an improvement in my skin since I started using this foundation. However , I did find a research paper which talks about how the combined use of Vitamin E and C can help treat hyper pigmentation (Acta Vitaminol Enzymol). A word of caution though..there are several derivatives of Vitamin C( Ascorbic Acid) used in skin care and cosmetics and not all of them behave in the same way as pure Ascorbic Acid.
  • Now for the next claim…Yes the skin does look illuminated..Did ya see the pic up there ? 🙂 The dimethicone and modified dimethicones present in the foundation have light reflective properties .
  • In  1 month the skin is clearer, healthier and more luminous?….umm I don’t think so..I rely on my moisturizer and other skin care products to do that since I use them more regularly. I personally wouldn’t expect a color cosmetic to give me the same results as regular exercise , eating healthy and a good skin care routine can provide.
  • Finish: Luminous..again did ya see that pic !
  • Now this foundation has an SPF of 20 and the active ingredient working as the sunscreen is Octinoxate also known as Octyl methoxycinnamate. However keep in mind that this compound protects only against UVB radiation and not UVA. There has been quite a bit of controversy in recent years about the safety of this and several other sunscreen components. There have been studies linking the compound to breast cancer since it has estrogen activity ( Best Practice & Research Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism). However Octinoxate is FDA approved (upto 7.5 % in cosmetics and sunscreens) and the true match lumi has it listed at 7%.  Some of the latest research also shows that the skin permeation of this compound is well below the highest safety limit (Pharmazie) which reaffirms their safety because for all the nasty stuff to happen a large amount must enter your body/blood stream.
  • Yup..the coverage is light to medium and you can buildup the foundation a bit without looking cakey.
  • Now this last claim of being safe for sensitive skin is a bit tricky to tackle…since you cant really define sensitive skin as either black or white..the definition is kind of in a grey area. I would like to point out that folks who are allergic or have bad reactions to sunscreen ingredients cant use this due to the presence of Octinoxate. I do have sensitive skin and I did not experience any skin irritation issues after using this product. As is always the case with people with skin sensitivities its always best to glance thru the ingredient lists and check for yourself.

I hope everyone is having an awesome day and hopefully you didn’t get too bored with all this rambling about the ingredients and such. Till next time..ciao!

Leave a Reply

