The Balm Girls Foxxy Pout…now thats a pretty pout :)

Hey there!

I should have maybe done this as my first post in honor of the fact I was a lippy lover since age 3 🙂 There was a time when I used to sneak into my parents bedroom whenever I felt like it and dab on a bit of moms lipstick..I have broken quite a few of them in my mad dash to smear it on and run away before anyone noticed me rummaging thru my moms stuff (so much for trying to do things undetected huh?). The very first cosmetic product I purchased on my own was also a lipstick and I guess thats true for a lot of women and girls !

Before I actually get into reviewing our lipstick in hand today..I have one more confession to make..I love pretty packaging (who doesnt!) and many a times it REALLY REALLY messes with my head when I am trying to decide if I want to buy something or not..basically I am every cosmetic company marketing teams dream customer 😛

These 2 titbits of info I gave you about myself is really relavant to this post..since I will be reviewing The Balm’s ‘The Balm Girls’ lipstick in the shade Foxxy Pout. Now if your familiar with The Balm cosmetics, and you have the pretty package syndrome ..you know what I am talking about 😉

The good stuff…

  • You guessed it! …The packaging…Its so pretty..and fun…I usually dont keep the outer packaging of makeup products for too long but this one was too cute to throw away so I still have it although I’ve owned this lipstick for a while now. The lipstick itself is in a nice shiny tube reminiscent of a bullet casing which is not bulky and easy to ferry around in a bag. Take a look at this picture below for further proof 🙂

The Packaging!

IMG_0612

  • I love the color of foxxy pout..actually I have a love hate relationship with it..somehow I feel this color looks nicer when I wear it for a night out rather than during the day. The soft yellow indoor lights make this color look so much nicer on my lips than sunlight for some reason! It could be because the shade is a nice mix of coppery, pinky bronzy tones..very warm toned in general and therefore looks glowy and cozy under yellow lights.

IMG_0619

  • The pigmentation is top notch..one swipe and I have the color on in full glory. As you may have noted from the picture above and below there is some glitter ..ok not some..lots of glitter bits  in this lipstick. The good news is its quite fine and doesnt give you that gritty feeling on your lips.

IMG_0623

The not so good stuff…

  • I have to admit I dont like the texture so much. Its light weight on the lips which is a good thing but I like to get that feeling of something moisturizing my lips..this just felt so dry going on my lips. It doesnt have that rich creamy texture I’ve come to associate with some of really nice lipsticks I’ve tried in the past. But I dont mind wearing this lipstick after slathering on a good amount of lip balm which brings me to my next point..
  • When I wore this lipstick without priming my lips real good with a chapstick, I found that after an hour or 2 my lips became dry and felt uncomfortable and the product settled into the fine lines on my lips.
  • This lipstick has a minty smell and it has that icy cooling menthol feel for a  minute or so  when you apply the lipstick. Some people may actually like it but to me it felt like something stinging my lips. The good thing is that the smell and that feeling goes away pretty quickly.yay!

The claims…Do they work?

So here is what I pulled up from  The Balm website 

‘These double agents provide your pucker with amazing pigment and rich conditioners. TheBalm Girls’ sleek packaging can infiltrate even the smallest evening bag to give your lips all the secret service they need!’

IMG_0630

The Ingredient List

  • Claim 1 is that these balm girls have amazing pigment. I have to agree that this is true after using this lipstick for a while now. A look at the ingredient list also available at their website, will show you the super stars responsible for this. Iron oxides, found in most lipstick formulations are synthesized in labs and is responsible for the red color. The addition of other pigments like red 7 lake,yellow 5 lake, blue 1 lake carmine etc helps to create different shades. In the case of foxxy pout I suspect there is a high proportion of mica due to the highly shiny nature of the product. The ingredient list is also available at their website incase you do find it hard to read from my rather terrible photo of the box!

IMG_0624

  • Claim 2 : Rich conditioners. Now this may seem strange considering I just ranted about how this product doesnt feel moisturizing on my lips but a look at the ingredients shows a list of skin conditioning and mositurizing components. The first 3 ingredients listed; pentaerythrityl tetraisostearate, hydrogenated polyisobutene and  isostearyl isostearate are synthetic skin conditioning agents. Additionally we have a list of naturally derived oils like jojoba seed oil, olive oil, soybean oils listed as well. So why didn’t my lips like this so much from a mositurizing perspective? Well I think it could be the fragrance in the product which might be alcohol derived and therefore dried out my lips. The peppermint oil listed in the ingredients, something my lips didnt like, can also dry out the lips and can be an irritant (International Journal of Research in Pharmaceutical and Biosciences).

I really wanted to love this lipstick considering how much I like the other products I tried from The Balm. I like this lipstick for its rather unique color and putting on a lip balm prior to swiping it on my lips partly solves the lip drying issue. Looking at things from a price perspective (USD 17) I would have expected a little bit more mositurising love from this lippy. Overall, I dont see myself buying this again but I will definately try their other lip formulations soon!

Leave a Reply

