DHC Deep Cleansing Oil Review

Hey everyone!!

Having lived in south east asia for close to 7 years, oil cleansers were a big part of my daily skin care routine, primarily as a makeup remover. When I moved to the US, I was quite dismayed to see that there were barely any oil cleansers in the drugstore. After abusing my skin with harsh makeup removing wipes for a while I thought I’ll just order an oil cleanser off of Amazon and I am so glad I did. If your unaware of oil cleansers, they are a great gentle way of removing your makeup, no tugging, no rubbing..just a quick rinse off 🙂 So, the oil cleanser I ordered from amazon is the DHC Deep Cleansing Oil and it cost 25$ and considering how little you need, its a pretty neat price tag 🙂

The DHC deep cleansing oil

The DHC deep cleansing oil

So a quick run through about how to use this..the key is to pump the oil onto your dry hands and massage it onto your dry face. I usually do not require more than 1 pump to remove my face makeup and when I do have heavy eye makeup on, I might need one more pump. After you’ve massaged the oil onto your face (and eyelids), all you need to do is rinse it off with water and..voila! your done with the makeup removal process!

IMG_1268_1

  • As I mentioned in the beginning this is a really gentle and easy way to remove makeup. The product claims to able to remove water proof mascara easily, I cannot vouch for that since I mostly use water resistant mascaras (which are easy to remove with the oil). It is able to take off all my makeup easily including staining lip sticks 🙂
  • Many people might be grossed out by the idea of putting oil on their face (especially oily skin folks). When you wash off the oil from your face this does not leave behind any greasy oil film on your face, instead your face will feel squeaky clean, so you don’t have to worry about any greasy after feel.
  • In case your wondering how exactly this thing works here is a quick take :).. your makeup is composed of oil and water dissolving components..the water soluble components can be easily removed by rinsing with water, its usually the oil soluble stuff that needs special removal. When you apply the oil onto your face, the oil soluble components get dissolved in the oil and upon contact with water form oil droplets which then gets washed away from your skin surface along with water your using for rinsing.
Ingredient List

Ingredient List

  • As you can see from the ingredient list above, the main ingredient is olive oil. If you have been looking for/using an oil cleanser for a while you will know that most of them contain mineral oil. Even the more expensive oil cleansers, like the ones from Shu Uemura contain mineral oil. So if your avoiding products with mineral oil , this is a good option.
  • The only negative that I can think about this product is that it is not travel friendly. Considering its an oily substance I would hesitate to put this in my checked luggage anyday!! So for travel purposes I still go back to makeup remover wipes.
  • I do have to point out that I do not use this in place of my daily cleanser although it says cleanser. After I use this to remove makeup, I still go ahead and use my regular facial cleanser and then moisturize. To me this is only a makeup remover 🙂

Do tell me, what are your favorite oil cleansers? I’d love to hear your suggestions and views on other similar products in the market :). Have a great rest of the week!!

Until next time, ciao!!

3 thoughts on “DHC Deep Cleansing Oil Review

  1. Quite an informative post, but oil cleansers are suitable only for those who have dry skin. If you have oily skin, massaging the oil so thoroughly on your face will make you look terrible! This is also like inviting acne and other skin conditions.

    • Hi thanks for reading my post! Well, I do know a couple of friends with oily skin who are very happy using oil cleansers to remove makeup. But, they and even myself (dry skin person) do not use this as a regular face wash(I doubt its intended to be used that way anyway). If you use this instead of a makeup removing wipe and follow up with your regular face wash then I don’t see any reason to worry about acne.

  2. Pingback: Coast to Coast Ultra Soothing Cleansing Oil | lillynlilly

Leave a Reply

