Lets talk hair removal!

Hey everyone!

Now that summer is in full swing we ladies have to get rid of all that fuzz we have been accumulating during the cold months 😀 I dunno about you guys but I am super lazy to bother with body hair removal during the winter months where you always step out all bundled up! At the end of winter my husband always likes to tease me saying we are competing in the arm and leg hair department 😛

I do have a couple of friends who barely have hair on their arms and legs but for the rest of us who are more likely to look like female wolves if hair removal is not done there are quite a few options:

1. Epilators

This is my favorite method of hair removal. It does get some getting used to before your entirely comfortable with it. The first couple of times I did find it a bit painful since the epilator plucks the hair from the root. I have been a big fan of Braun for epilators probably because since I was a kid I’ve seen my mom use Braun (yes we are the hairy family)  and then I bought Braun for myself too. I do find it a little time consuming and generally do this while watching tv sitting on newspapers to collect the hair 😀 Because in this method the hair is pulled out from the root, you can be easily hairless for a month or more depending on how fast they grow back. I have also heard that the down side of epilator hair removal is that you might start getting ingrown hairs if you epilate too often..so far I have not had any issues..

(Picture source: wikimedia commons)

2. Shaving

This is the most common method I guess. Almost everyone I know shaves! However I don’t for the simple reason I don’t like sharp blades near my skin..weird I know! This is a far more economical method to remove body hair since a good epilator costs some money and is relatively painless (unless you cut urself with the blade ouch!). It is a myth that shaving causes hair to regrow thicker and more coarse. As to the reason why the newly formed stubble looks thicker is because shaved hair does not have the natural tapered look that unshaven hair has. When you shave, hair is not removed at the root so it does not slow down hair regrowth rate either. (The British Medical Journal)

File:Womens shaving razors.jpeg

(Image source: wikimedia commons)

3. Waxing

This is something I have tried out and I like the fast and relatively painless results. The only thing that stops me from using this method is that its usually easier if someone else does the final pulling off the sheet 😛 In Asia, a lot of the beauty salons offer waxing services and they are quick and fast. I remember going to one of these places with a friend and we sat and chatted and before we knew it we were done. 🙂 In this method, hair is removed from the root so you can be hair free for a longer period of time much like when you use an epilator. Some days when I am really lazy I do miss those hair waxing salons back in Asia 🙂

(Source: Wikimedia commons)

4. Hair removal creams

This is my best friend when I suddenly want to wear a short dress / shorts and have hairy legs. They have been around for a really long time in the market (check out the ad below from 1915). The only thing I don’t like about these is the smell! Brands these days do try their best to make their creams smell less like rotten eggs and toxic fumes but even with the added fragrance they still stink! I don’t think its a good idea to use these on a regular basis since these creams are basically chemicals which break down the proteins in your body hair.  As always with products like these , its is best to test it out on a small region of your skin to see if your allergic before each use.

File:Depilatory advert.jpeg

An old ad from 1915 advertising depilatory powder. (Source: wikimedia commons)

So far we have been talking about temporary solutions to hairy problems. There are permanent solutions available like IPL and laser removal which I will probably talk about in another post since this post is fairly long! I would love to hear about  your favorite method for hair removal …do let me know in the comments section!

Until next time ..ciao!!

Leave a Reply

