Maybelline Fit me shine free foundation

Hola everyone!!

So late last year sometime during the cold winter months, I was browsing through the beauty aisles of Target and this little stick foundation caught my eye. I haven’t used a stick foundation product in ages, the last time I tried one was for attending some event and I think that foundation stick belonged to my mom 🙂  I was all excited to try it out, but once I bought it home and read about it online I found out that this is for oily skin folks (I have dry skin)oops! But I still thought I will give it a try because in case it worked, it would be a very easy product to travel with!

Maybelline Fit me foundation

Maybelline Fit me foundation

When I tried it in the winter when my skin was drier than usual I hated it! So if you have really really dry skin, stay away from this! I decided to give this foundation a try this summer since I have slightly less dry skin issues and the humidity levels are quite high as well during this time. The stick consists of 2 parts; an inner core which is supposed to be an anti shine core which helps keep oiliness at bay and the the outer foundation part as seen in the picture below.

Stick foundation with inner anti shine core

Stick foundation with inner anti shine core

  • First off, I found picking the right shade a big challenge! It was extremely hard to pick a shade when the stick had 2 portions each a different shade. I picked up the shade 235 which is not the right shade for me but I can still make it work as long as its a light to medium coverage look. The shade 235 has slight pink undertones but also has a slight neutral undertone which is probably why I am able to make it work to some extent.
  • When I swatch the foundation it feels creamy, but on the face its an entirely different story. It goes on smoothly, but is extremely difficult to spread on the skin. They recommend using your fingertips to apply this but like I said it was very difficult to spread it evenly.
  • The foundation sets to a powdery finish which I don’t particularly enjoy. However, I do notice that it look less powdery within 10 to 15 minutes post application. Whatever your skin type, make sure you moisturize well before applying this because this product will cling to all your dry patches!
  • Now this foundation claims to keep you shine free but sadly I didn’t see that happen. Although, I have dry skin I do get oily around my T zone in the summer months and with this foundation that happened just 4 hours after application. Hence, I am wondering if this foundation will actually help oily skin folks!
swatch

swatch

Now, the only good thing I can think of for this product is the fact it is easy to carry around  and its budget friendly if it works for you! This might work out for someone with normal skin and no oily T zone. Have any of you guys tried this out? If so what do you think?

Until next time..ciao!!

 

Leave a Reply

