Maybelline Color Sensational Matte Lipsticks

Hey everyone!

So, as many of you guys are aware, the trend this season is matte lips! To be honest I never used to buy any matte lipsticks since I kind of assumed they will all be drying and cakey looking on the lips. However, the last couple of months I have been experimenting more with matte lipsticks and was surprised to find a few that are not drying and look lovely on the lips. Hence having become a recent matte lip convert I just had to try the new Maybelline Color sensational matte lipsticks!

Maybelline color sensational Matte lipsticks

Maybelline color sensational Matte lipsticks

I picked these up in 2 shades; Lust for Blush and Touch of Spice. Both these shades are pink toned and before I get to the details of each shade lets talk about how good the formula is!

I am very impressed with this line..both the lipsticks apply smoothly with no tugging and they are very pigmented! The biggest surprise was how they don’t feel drying on the lips. After applying these lipsticks if you purse your lips together you will notice there is still some tact, in other words the lipstick has some moisture and does not dry down after applying on the lips. These are impressive qualities for a drugstore lipstick!

These do have reasonably good lasting power. I noticed very little, if any transfer to glasses and cutlery when eating and drinking. I would say they can last for 6 to 7 hours with light eating and drinking. Also as the day goes by, I did not notice my lips getting drier from the lipstick which is again good news!

Lust for Blush Swatches

Lust for Blush Swatches

Lust for blush is a cool toned pink shade as you may have noticed from the swatch. I am not a very big fan of this shade mostly since I feel it looks a bit barbie doll like on my skin tone 😛 I may just pass this on to someone whose complexion is better suited for cool toned pinks! I like how pretty it looks swatched on my hand, but not so much on my lips!

touch of spice swatches

touch of spice swatches

I really love touch of spice! It is the perfect my lips but better (and pinker) shade for me. It looks really dark in the tube and also swatched on my arm so I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of pink that comes through when worn on the lips.

I think there are some 8 to 9 shades available in this range, most of them leaning towards brighter pinks. Overall, these are very good for the price ($5.50) and I find them to be very comfortable on the lips. The only complaint I have with these is the smell! They do have a synthetic vanilla smell to them which I am not a fan of. However, the smell dies down pretty soon after application so in the end it isn’t that bothersome.

Have you tried these new lipsticks at the drugstore? What shades did you get and what do you think about them?

Until next time …ciao!!

2 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Sensational Matte Lipsticks

Leave a Reply

