Holiday gift ideas for the One direction fan in your life!


Hello everyone!

It’s December! Tis the season for family,shopping, gifts and food! I was sent these 3 holiday gift sets by Markwins which I think are the perfect stocking stuffers for the friend or family member who loves all things One Direction.

Limited edition makeup kits by One Direction

Limited edition makeup kits by One Direction

The 3 kits that were sent to me were the Electroglam mascara kit, the Liquilights Glow gloss kit and the Rock me Nail kit. Lets take a look at them one at a time now shall we? 🙂

The Electroglam mascara kit

The kit comes with 3 tubes of colored mascara which can be either used on the lashes or on small sections of hair. I was far more interested to see how they looked when applied to my hair than lashes so I do not have any pics of them on my lashes. The 3 shades that come in this kit are as follows:

Why don’t we go there- Shock of blue
Does he know?- Pinkest hot pink
Story of my life- Amped canary yellow

I liked how the blue shade looked on my hair! The wand is a typical mascara wand and after stroking this onto your hair try to gently separate your hair strands with your fingers. This will help distribute the color more evenly than by simply applying with the wand.

Electroglam Mascara

Electroglam Mascara

This of course in no way compares to actually dying your hair blue but as far as temporary hair color goes , this looks decent. These come off really easy with a single shampoo wash so it is a nice way to add some color accents to your hair for an evening out.

The Liquilights Glow gloss kit

The gloss set comes with 3 lip glosses in the following shades:

Through the Dark- Electric glitter poppy lip gloss that glows to neon red-orange under UV light
Kiss You- Orange glitter rush lip gloss that glows to neon yellow under UV light
Taken – Powerhouse glitter pink lip gloss that glows to neon orange under UV light

I like the formula of these glosses. They are non drying, non sticky and have no offense smells. The only thing I don’t like about them is the glitter! That is mostly since I am personally not a fan of glitter in lipglosses. The glitter also makes the gloss feel a tad bit gritty on the lips.

Liquilights  Glow gloss

Liquilights Glow gloss

These glosses are supposed to change color under UV black light. Unfortunately, I do not have access to black light and so couldn’t test that out. Do let me know if anyone of you guys tested these out under black light 🙂

Rock Me Nail kit

This kit comprises of 3 nail varnishes and 3 pots of loose glitter. They suggest you sprinkle the glitter over wet polish. I tried this out and suggest that you apply an additional top coat post the glitter sprinkling step unless you like textured nails which get caught on every possible fabric!

Rock me nail kit

Rock me nail kit

The shade names of the nail varnishes and glitter top coats are as follows:

Nail Varnish:
Happily– UV iced blue glitter
Moments- UV neon pink
Diana- UV 3D holographic

Glitter Toppings:
Kicks- UV snow cone blue
Not afraid- UV electrified pink glitter
Star– UV holo glitter

Like the lip glosses these too supposedly transform under black light. I found that the blue and pink nail varnishes needed 3 coats to look opaque on my nails. The silver glittery nail varnish however was able to deposit sufficient amounts of glitter in 1 coat. The glitter toppings are messy! So make sure your layout before you begin your manicure allows you to clean up glitter. Although the glitter toppings are messy and feel gritty on the nails they do look nice once applied.

Overall, these are great little gifts for One direction fans. In case you do feel like grabbing these they are available at the following stores:

Macy’s
Dillards
Boscov’s
Stage Stores
Beauty Brands
Lord & Taylor

Have a great weekend! Until next time, ciao!!

 

*PR Sample. Opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

