Smashbox on the Rocks Photo Op Eye Shadow Luxe Palette

Hey guys!

Hope your holiday shopping is coming along great! This is the best time of the year to get some high end and even drug store makeup products at awesome prices. I usually go through a lot of confusion on what to get for myself during the holiday madness since there are usually a ton of value for money makeup gift sets floating around. Since I currently have an overflowing makeup drawer I decided to pick up only one item from this years holiday makeup collection and so it was even harder than usual ๐Ÿ˜€ I knew I wanted eyeshadows and I was torn between getting the Sephora exclusive Everything nice palette from Too Faced and the Smashbox on the rocks Luxe Palette. I found the face products in the Everything nice kit a bit too shimmery for my taste and since I heard really good reviews on the Smashbox palette I picked it up as my gift for myself ๐Ÿ˜‰

Smashbox on the Rocks Luxe Palette

Smashbox on the Rocks Luxe Palette

I really love the holographic design on the packaging! The palette is housed in a cardboard box with some foam cushioning on the top making it quite sturdy. The palette also comes with a nice big mirror along with 28 lovely eyeshadows!

The 28 eyeshadows in the Smashbox on the Rocks Luxe palette

The 28 eyeshadows in the Smashbox on the Rocks Luxe palette

This is my first Smashbox eye shadow palette and boy am I impressed! These have a lovely silky texture. They are not as soft and crumbly as the LORAC Pro shadows but have the same silkiness. I am also extremely happy with the pigmentation of these shadows especially since a little goes a long way. Here are more pictures of the palette:

The Neutral side of the palette

The Neutral side of the palette

The colorful section with some bling!

The colorful section with some bling!

The Smokey side of the palette

The Smokey side of the palette

As you can see, the palette is quite versatile, color wise and texture wise. It has neutrals, brighter but wearable shades, smokey shades, mattes, shimmers and also a glitter shade. This is quite awesome to gift to someone who is just starting out and wants to try a hand with a variety of shades and finishes and just about anyone who wants more than a neutral palette!

I got my hands on this palette a couple of weeks ago and although I have not been able to use all the shadows on my eyelids, I did swatch every shade at Ulta before I bought it and they were beautiful! The only shade I am not totally digging is the shade moonlight which is a chunky glitter shade in between the pink and peach shade in the smokey side of the palette. This shade is probably meant to be used as a topper for your eyeshadow look since it has little to no color payoff on its own. ย The rest of the shades swatch well and the few I have applied on my lids performed exceptionally well. I did not notice any fading or creasing with them and they blend really well too.

Now lets get to the price tag shall we..this is where things get even better! I got my palette for 42$ which I think is a steal for 28 shadows (1.25g each) however I notice that the prices have been slashed recently! This palette is now available at Ulta and the Smashbox website for 29$ which is fantastic! ๐Ÿ™‚

The only con I can think of is the packaging. The smaller on the rocks eyeshadow palette is packaged in a much more sleek fashion and I would have loved it if they did the same with this one too. It can be a little heavy and bulky to travel with but since it is a sturdy case I might try travelling with it when I go home for Christmas next week ๐Ÿ™‚

Sorry for the lack of swatches (long story) but do check out the review of this palette by Bailey B on youtube where she shows the swatches up close. It was her swatches that convinced me to check this palette out!

Here is the link:ย https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yl6_9tC7MLs

Hope your all having a great week! Until next time…ciao!!

16 thoughts on “Smashbox on the Rocks Photo Op Eye Shadow Luxe Palette

  1. I totally agree that the smaller one has the best packaging but both are lovely ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m excited I was able to get this and can’t wait to see what it can do ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Cool tone eyes ~ Purple and Silver ! | lillynlilly

Leave a Reply

