The Anna Sui Eye Color Palette

Hello everyone!

Hope your all having a great week so far! Today lets take a look at an eyeshadow palette from the brand Anna Sui. Anna Sui is a well known fashion designer who also has a makeup line known for cutesy and unconventional packaging. Currently I’m on a hunt for new brands to try out so I thought I’ll try something from her makeup line ๐Ÿ™‚

The Anna Sui Eye Color Palette

The Anna Sui Eye Color Palette

Anna Sui makeup is available online at Beauty.com. I’m not aware of other places in the US where her makeup is sold. I first spotted this palette on beauty.com for 42$ however when I looked around a bit I found the palette on sale (21$) at a UK based website called FeelUnique.com. Since it was 50% off I took the plunge and made my first ever international makeup order ๐Ÿ˜€ . Unfortunately,the palette is currently out of stock at feelunique and the sale is over as well ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but its still available at beauty.com for full price.

The palette has cardboard packaging but I do find it sturdy. I traveled with this palette last weekend and there were no issues. The magnetic closure is strong enough to prevent it from opening up. As you can see from the picture above the palette comes with roses printed on it..I’m not sure if everyone is going to like it..what do you think? Is it tacky or cute/vintage looking? I’m kind of indifferent to it..I don’t mind it but don’t love it either ๐Ÿ™‚

Inside the palette

Inside the palette

The palette has 10 eyeshadows in total. If your a matte shadow lover, this might not be your cup of tea since there are zero matte shades in here. There is a frosty highlight shade, 3 shadows which have a satin finish, 4 metallic type of shadows and 2 shades with glitter in them.

I was kind of surprised that there was no mirror! Considering the original price point of this palette (42$) I would expect a mirror to be included. ย The palette comes with a dual ended applicator which has a brush on one side and a sponge tip on the other. I found this to be rather cheap and not really usable.

A closer look at the shadows

A closer look at the shadows

The eyeshadows in this palette do not have individual names/numbers. The shades look very spring appropriate to me and one of the reasons why I was drawn to it is because I don’t have any palette with this sort of a color scheme in my collection. The eyeshadows have a rose scent to them..I will never understand why makeup companies do that! Fortunately, the smell isn’t detectable once you apply these on your lids.

The shades look so pretty in the pan but unfortunately they are pretty sheer when applied on the skin, especially the top row of shadows. Take a look at the swatches and you’ll understand what I’m talking about!

Swatches!

Swatches! (swatched using a brush)

Although I was initially disappointed with the top row of shadows, I am ย slowly liking them for everyday toned down looks. The swatches are without primer and with the help of a primer they do tend to show up a bit more. I am extremely pleased with the pigmentation of the bottom row of shadows. All in all you can make the palette work.

I do have to warn you though…they are extremely powdery and hence need to be picked up gently with your brush (no sticking in your brush in a hurry!) The metallic shades apply beautifully but with the 2 glittery shades (the olive green and black) I had a ton of fall out to deal with! even with a primer which is a bummer ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Overall, I think this palette is not worth 42$. I rather buy a Lorac pro palette for that money! But if like me you fell in love with shades then I suggest you wait for a discount coupon/sale to purchase this palette. I am glad I paid only 21$ since I personally feel its worth only that much if not less.

Have you tried any Anna Sui products lately?

Until next time…ciao!!

7 thoughts on “The Anna Sui Eye Color Palette

  1. Pingback: Copper and dark green eyeshadow | lillynlilly

Leave a Reply

