DIY Beauty~ Yogurt face masks !

Hello folks!!

Just 2 more days for the weekend! Yay! Today I have 2 really easy face masks you can try out this weekend to relax and pamper yourself after a hard work week 🙂 Now, the masks I am going to share here are by no means new or innovative; just ones I found very effective personally!

I have very dry skin which gets red and irritated easily (sensitive and fussy) and I got sun burnt a couple of weeks back (yikes!).  All these factors made my skin care a bit more complicated for the past couple of weeks. I wanted to try something natural to sort of nurse my skin back to health and that is how I got hooked to yogurt face masks!

I tried 2 types of yogurt face mask for 4 days a week for the past 3 weeks and voila! My skin feels awesome..in fact much better than what it was before I got baked in the sun!

Before we talk about the 2 masks, lets chat a bit about the star ingredient.

Greek yogurt tastes yummy and there is enough research talking about how the probiotics in them are good for your gut health. Well did you know that it is excellent for your skin and hair? 😉 I haven’t tried a hair mask with yogurt yet..if you have, do tell me how it feels! I am concerned there might be some weird smell lingering around , if I use it on my hair. Greek yogurt is rich in lactic acid which helps moisturize skin and it also acts as a very gentle exfoliant by sloughing off dead cells. Another important skin care ingredient found in yogurt is Zinc. Zinc is commonly used in anti acne creams since it helps kill acne causing bacteria. It is also known for its mild astringent properties which help in tightening pores. Sounds good huh?! The 2 masks mentioned below combine yogurt with either honey or oats. If you want you can make your mask with all 3 together!!

1. Yogurt and Oats Mask

This is a simple mask combining 2 teaspoons of full fat Greek yogurt with a teaspoon of rolled oats! (you can adjust the proportion as per your liking). Use more yogurt for a thicker mask and less for a thinner, faster drying mask. I like to leave my mask on for 30 minutes before washing it off using cool water.

Yogurt and Oats face mask

Yogurt and Oats face mask

Oats works great as a gentle scrub for your face once the mask dries and you start washing it off. If you do not like the scrubbing effect, try adding powdered oats to the yogurt to get the skin care benefits of oats. Oats contain beta glucan which helps to reduce fine lines in addition to being a calming agent for irritated skin. So if you have sensitive skin this mask works great!!

2. Yogurt and Honey Mask

Out of the 2, this is my favorite!! I find this to be very moisturizing for my dry skin and its good enough to eat ;). Again, you will need a teaspoon or more of full fat Greek yogurt and a teaspoon of honey. Give this mixture a whirl with a spoon to incorporate the honey into the yogurt. I like to apply a thick layer of this to my face and leave it on for 30 minutes.

Yogurt and Honey Mask

Yogurt and Honey face mask

If you like, you can use Manukka honey which  has special benefits (I’ll write another post on that!). Honey has been used for its wound healing and anti microbial properties since ancient times. The ability of honey to draw moisture from the air makes it an amazing moisturizing agent.

Do try these easy masks out! They are natural and you most probably have all the ingredients in your kitchen already!

Until next time…ciao!!

 

References

1.  Levkovich T, Poutahidis T, Smillie C, Varian BJ, Ibrahim YM, Lakritz JR, et al. (2013) Probiotic Bacteria Induce a ‘Glow of Health’. PLoS ONE 8(1)

2. Manisha Deb Mandal and Shyamapada Mandal ,Asian Pac J Trop Biomed. 2011 Apr; 1(2): 154–160.

3.Tahereh Eteraf-Oskouei and Moslem Najafi, Iran J Basic Med Sci. 2013 Jun; 16(6): 731–742.

4. http://www.news-medical.net/news/2005/10/03/13517.aspx

5. Josée Beaulieu, Claude Dupont and Pierre Lemieux, Journal of Inflammation 2007, 4:6

 

5 thoughts on “DIY Beauty~ Yogurt face masks !

Leave a Reply

