Rimmel Showoff Lip Lacquer in Nova

Hello everyone!!

Happy Sunday! As you all may be aware, liquid lipsticks are ‘in’ right now with the matte versions being most popular. Rimmel did come out with their non glossy velvet lacquers a couple of months ago and before testing those out I thought I’d give the original lip lacquer a try! I picked up the showoff lip lacquer in the shade Nova.

Rimmel Showoff Lip Laquer in Nova

Rimmel Showoff Lip Lacquer in Nova

The lip lacquer comes housed in a nice sturdy round tube. The bottom part of the tube is supposed to indicate the color of the lip lacquer, unfortunately I didn’t find it to be that accurate. Under store lighting, the pink indicated on the tube looked deeper than the actual pink color of the lip product inside. The shade Nova is a light milky pink with blue tones. Like I said in the store, looking at the tube I didn’t think it would be blue based (Generally blue based pinks don’t look nice on me!)

I really like the applicator which is like the traditional doe foot but with a dip/well to pick up product and to hug the lips better when applying. I have mostly seen this kind of an applicator in higher end lip glosses and liquid lipsticks, so it was a nice surprise to find it in a drugstore product!

The applicator

The applicator

First lets talk about all the pros! I really like how pigmented the lip lacquer is! In a single swipe I was able to get a nice opaque coat on the lips. The dip in the applicator is able to pick up the right amount of product needed to cover the lips in 1 swipe from the tube. This also feels really comfy on the lips! I did not experience any stickiness nor did my lips feel dry as the day went by. Overall it feels light on the lips and you tend to forget it is even there!

Single swipe swatch and application on the lips

Single swipe swatch and application on the lips

I have not tried building up the color on my lips since I am pretty happy the full opaqueness achieved with a single swipe. I do suppose it can get a bit gooey if over applied. The staying power is quite decent. It fades away in a non patchy way so it isn’t too high maintenance πŸ™‚

The lip lacquer has a synthetic fruity smell which is really strong when you apply it. The first time I almost gagged at the smell since I generally hate such scents. I still haven’t gotten past the scent which is why I don’t reach for this that often although it looks nice once applied on the lips. However this is not the breaking point for me with this product, its actually the ugly white ring it leaves around your mouth after a couple of hours! I tried to see if applying less of the lacquer will help prevent that ring but sadly it does not 😦

These 2 issues stop me from using the Rimmel lip lacquer often, but if you can get past these 2 issues it is a really nice product that is budget friendly too!

Have a great Sunday!!

Until next time…ciao!

9 thoughts on “Rimmel Showoff Lip Lacquer in Nova

    • I know! I have no clue why companies think we love scented makeup ( I know very few people who like strong scents in their makeup). I don’t want to taste rose perfume or fake fruity scents when I wear lipstick!! Thanks for reading!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

