Origins Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash

Hola folks!!

I have been using the Origins checks and balances face wash for over 6 months and I am now finally ready to give my thoughts on this face wash 🙂

Origins is an Estee Lauder company which makes natural skincare products with many of their products formulated with plant oils. They are also notable for formulating their products without parabens, phthalates, propylene glycol, mineral oil, PABA, petrolatum, paraffin and synthetic colors, fragrances and animal ingredients..Phew! That was a long sentence!! I am not sure if Origins is a cruelty free brand..they do mention on the face wash tube that they test their products on volunteer panels but don’t out right say they don’t test on animals.

The Origins Checks and Balances frothy face wash

The Origins Checks and Balances frothy face wash

This face wash claims to be able to cleanse both the dry and oily parts of your face without cancelling each other out…I’m not so sure about that. I have pretty dry skin and in the summers I have an oily T zone but for the most part my skin is dry. Although, they claim that your skin won’t feel stripped or tight after using it, my skin does feel slightly tight after using it. I have to immediately moisturize my skin after using this cleanser which is what I do always anyway so this wasn’t a deal breaker for me.

A single tube can last a really long time!The tube above is pretty full looking considering I’ve used this everyday for 6 months. All you need is a really tiny pea size for your whole face and it froths up well too (as the product name implies!). Unfortunately, all that frothiness does not remove makeup..you will definitely need to use a separate makeup remover for that purpose.

The cleanser has a minty smell which although mild, I am not a fan of! It smells a bit like my toothpaste 😐 This is due to the presence of spearmint oil among the ingredients in this product.

Ingredient List

Ingredient List

The ingredients in this cleanser look good..till you get to all the essential oils listed. If you have extremely sensitive skin, you might know already that these are potential skin irritants. I have seen reviews from people with really sensitive skin on makeup alley talking about how the product caused breakouts , rashes and redness. Although my skin is pretty sensitive in general, I did not experience any skin irritation but if you know for sure that your skin doesn’t take kindly to stuff like spearmint and bergamot oil this cleanser is best avoided!

I like the idea of using a face wash with ingredients like lavender water, glycerin and Behenic acid (major component of Moringa oil) but I did not see any effect of these ingredients on my skin. For me, this was a very basic face wash which didn’t do anything exciting to my skin and so I might not be repurchasing it once I am done with the current tube.

Have you tried the Origins Checks and Balances frothy face wash? What are your thoughts?

Have a great week!!

Until next time…ciao!!

One thought on “Origins Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash

Leave a Reply

