The perfect winter time face mask!

Hello folks!

Its here..its December! Usually this is my favorite time of the year and I get into the holiday spirit by mid November, however this year it is yet to hit me. For some reason I can’t believe that 2015 is almost done..it went by too fast. It is getting slightly cold and my skin which is always dry is getting drier.

Winter is when my facial skin decides to shed and get all flaky. Sometimes even applying straight up oil on my face doesn’t help with the flakiness. (I know..all you oily gals must have cringed a little reading that line πŸ˜‰ ) This year I found an awesome and simple solution for my dry skin problems! An egg!! or to be more precise an egg yolk πŸ™‚

File:Raw egg.jpg

Source: Wikimedia Commons

I have heard of countless face masks using egg whites but never tried them since they dry out your skin. Egg white face masks are great for tightening your skin and controlling oil so do try it out if your skin isn’t like the Sahara desert.

Now egg yolks are a different ball game. They are moisturizing and soften your skin! After separating the yolk from the white, I like to add a little bit of honey to the yolk and mix them together nicely. The mixture will be a bit runny so this is not a face mask you can slap on and walk around. You will need to remain seated till it dries a little. Another thing to note is the smell :D..Yes it isn’t the most pleasant smelling face mask but the result is totally worth it in my opinion! Plus adding the honey does mask some of the eggy smell.

After it dries down (15 to 20 minutes) you can wash it off with lukewarm water and your skin will be moisturized and soft like a baby’s butt πŸ™‚ I like to apply this face mask once a week and my skin is loving it so far!

As you may be aware, honey is known to be a great moisturizing agent and combined with the egg yolk, the mask delivers a punch!

There are many other combinations I saw online. You can add blended avocado or even milk powder to this mix to make it even more hydrating for the skin. I have yet to try these other versions. For now, I love this simple mask with just honey and egg yolk!

Have you tried any egg yolk based face masks? I would love to try them out!

Until next time…ciao!!

7 thoughts on “The perfect winter time face mask!

  1. Pingback: Caudalie Vinosource Riche Intense Moisture Rescue Cream | lillynlilly

  2. Pingback: Antipodes Aura Manuka Honey Face Mask | lillynlilly

Leave a Reply

