Antipodes Aura Manuka Honey Face Mask

Hello folks!!

My very first blog post of the year! Happy new year everyone! The winter season is when my normally dry skin loves to get extra dry and annoying. I have been loving the home made egg yolk face masks I talked about a couple of weeks ago but they can be quite messy and too much work when I am really lazy 😉 . I wanted to hunt down a good moisturizing face mask and saw a lot of good reviews on the Antipodes Manuka Honey face mask. I have not seen them in the US but I found them on the British website Feelunique.com. Feelunique has become a favorite website to try out new brands which I do not usually have access to. I picked this up for 23$ since they had some offer for black friday.

Antipodes Aura Manuka Honey Mask

Antipodes Aura Manuka Honey Mask

Antipodes is a New Zealand brand which is organic and uses mostly natural ingredients in their skincare products. Prior to purchasing the mask I scoured the web for reviews and found that the Manuka honey mask is one of their star products.

I like the packaging. The tube packaging is hygienic and limits the exposure of the product to air.The mask is very light and creamy and very unlike conventional masks which can be thick. Spreading this on the face, it forms a thin creamy layer which is slightly sticky. The mask has a pleasant orange and vanilla smell. A closer look at the ingredients show the presence of vanilla and orange essential oils so if you are sensitive to essential oils , you might need to proceed with caution with this mask.

The texture of the mask

The texture of the mask before and after spreading on the skin

The instructions tell you to keep the mask on for 15 mins and rinse off with warm water. I usually leave it on for 20 to 25 minutes. After washing the mask off , my skin does feel nice and soft. However, I did not find it to be hydrating. An hour or so after I wash off the mask, my skin feels dry again. My winter time dry skin seems to be winning against this face mask! I have not yet completely written off this face mask and I am curious to see how well it performs in the summer. However, I have to admit that I am disappointed with the mask especially since it has an original price tag of 30$.

I am puzzled as to why this mask isn’t hydrating enough since it does have a good ingredient list as you can see below:

Ingredient List

Ingredient List

With ingredients like Manuka honey, Avocado oil and glycerin among the first few in the list, this mask did really look like a winner to me! Sigh! If only it was a winner 😦

Have you tried anything from the Antipodes brand? Let me know what are your recommendations!

Until next time, Ciao!!

 

2 thoughts on “Antipodes Aura Manuka Honey Face Mask

  1. Thank you for sharing Antipodes Aura Manuka Honey Mask. We wondered if you used a moisturiser after using Aura? If you have dry skin it is important to also use a moisturier after a mask. Unfortunately we do not know what other products you are using to contribute to your dry skin, but we would recommend you continuing using Aura Manuka Honey Mask as the antibacterial manuka honey powerfully draws moisture to your skin to hydrate it intensely. This facial mask delivers an intensely moisturising, cleansing and antioxidising treatment. Let us know how you go. #lovethearoha #AntipodesNZ

    • Thank you for stopping by my blog 🙂 Yes, I usually do use a moisturizer after a face mask but for hydrating face masks I usually do not. This is because most of the time the job of moisturizing is done by the mask itself and my skin would feel ‘too moisturized’ if I apply another moisturizer immediately.. I do plan to continue using the mask and look forward to seeing how it works for my skin in the summer when it is more normal to dry.

Leave a Reply

